Congratulations to our clerkship educators and medical students for winning the following awards:

AOA Volunteer Clinical Faculty Award

The Alpha Omega Alpha Volunteer Clinical Faculty Award is presented annually by local chapters to recognize community physicians who have contributed with distinction to the education and training of medical students.

  • Roger Rowles, MD (Yakima, WA); 2011

APGO Excellence in Teaching Award

The APGO Excellence in Teaching Award was established in 1992 to recognize outstanding teachers in ob-gyn medical education. Over 1,500 physician educators have received this prestigious award since its inception.

  • Bruce Hopkins, MD (Spokane, WA); 2010
  • Rita Hsu, MD (Wenatchee, WA); 2014
  • Tyler Bradford, MD (Bozeman, MT); 2016
  • Mark Garnaas, MD (Missoula, MT); 2018
  • Jennifer Mayo, MD (Missoula, MT); 2020

Davenport Scholarship

This fund was established to recognize Cricket Davenport, M.D., a 1978 resident alumna of the University of Washington School of Medicine. Approximately 20 years ago, Dr. Davenport delivered two premature twin boys — Dr. Clermont Powell’s grandsons. In 2007, the boys graduated with honors, one from Princeton and the other from the University of Southern California. With the creation of this endowment — and the identical endowment created by Yvonne N. and Leon R. Spadoni, M.D. ’57, Res. ’63 — Dr. Powell is commemorating the fine care Dr. Davenport provided his daughter-in-law and grandsons, and is creating a valuable source of scholarship support at UW Medicine. The purpose of this fund is to support M.D. students who plan to study obstetrics and gynecology.


  • Jamie Funk; 2019
  • Jasmine Rah; 2020

Gold Humanism Honor Society

These residents and faculty were recognized by UW students for their humanism in medicine .

  • Lauren Stewart, MD (UW Resident); 2016
  • Roger Rowles, MD (Yakima, WA); 2016

Normas Benedetti Medical Student Scholarship

This scholarship was established in 2018 by Dr. Thomas Benedetti and his wife Jaqueline. The purpose is “to provide support for M.D. students pursuing gynecological oncology or obstetrics and gynecology.” The Benedetti’s were inspired to create this scholarship in honor of Norma Benedetti (Dr. Tom Benedetti’s mother) and Norma Benedetti Coonan (Dr. Benedetti’s aunt), who both suffered from gynecological cancers.


  • Benjamin Cordy; 2019
  • Jazmine Perez; 2020

WRITE Excellence in Teaching Award

  • Laura Twist, MD (Butte, MT); 2019

IDAHO Excellence in Teaching Award

  • Kristen Algoe, MD (Sandpoint, ID); 2020
  • Megan Kasper, MD (Nampa, ID); 2020

WWAMI Distinguished Teacher Award

This award honors a faculty member in the WWAMI region who has played an important role in your education.

  • Margaret Dow, MD (Havre, MT); 2012
  • Suzanne Swietnicki, MD (Havre, MT); 2012
  • Jan Whitefield, MD (Anchorage, AK); 2014
  • Rogers Rowles, MD (Yakima, WA); 2017

UW Excellence in Women's Health Award


To recognize and reward a graduating UW medical student who demonstrated unparalleled excellence during their OB/GYN required rotation.


  1. Received an HONORS on OB/GYN rotation
  2. Applying to OB/GYN Residency
  3. Characteristics:
    a. True advocate for patients
    b. Compassionate and kind to all patients
    c. Demonstrated passion for Women's Health
    d. Excellent fund of knowledge
    e. Excellent operative skills
    f. Efficient and effective in outpatient clinic
    g. Worked well with all team members, including RNs and MAs
    h. Someone you would want in your practice in the future
    i. Someone you would want to care for you in the future


Certificate and Cash Award


  • Kara Sawyer; 2013
  • Shannon Rush; 2014
  • Kelli McEntee; 2015
  • Anna Greer; 2016
  • Elena Pellicer; 2017
  • Bryn Smith; 2021